House Colors Hat (Hufflehat!)

SONY DSC

This was my first time making a hat, and I made about 20 of them till I got it right! I started off using patterns from around the web, but none of them did what I wanted, so after many, many attempts, I had a pretty good feel for what I needed to change about those patterns to get the results I wanted.

Since it was such a challenge for me to find a House Pride hat pattern, I’d like to share my findings to help anyone else trying to make one. My biggest challenges were getting the stripes around to line up, and getting it to have a nice curve to it.

This one I made is a hat for a ‘Puff, but you can of course change  the colors to be other houses as well.

The hat is made entirely with half-double crochets, which I think gives it a great look, works up a bit more quickly than single crochet, and it’s not too holey so it’s nice and warm.

SONY DSC

This is my first pattern that’s not just a giant rectangle, so any pattern testers and feedback are welcome. 🙂

HOUSE COLORS HAT
I/5.5 mm hook
Worsted Weight Yarn (I used Red Heart Super Saver in Black and Gold).

Round 1: With Color A, ch 2, 6 hdc in 2nd ch from hook. 6 hdc.

Rnd 2: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in each stitch around. 12 hdc.

Rnd 3: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc, (2 hdc, 1 hdc) around. 18 hdc.

Rnd 4: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc in each of next 2 stitches, (2 hdc, hdc, hdc) around. 24 hdc.

Rnd 5: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc in each of next 3 stitches, (2 hdc, hdc, hdc, hdc) around. 30 hdc.

Rnd 6: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc in each of next 4 stitches, (2 hdc, hdc x 4) around. 36 hdc.

Rnd 7: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc in each of next 5 stitches, (2 hdc, hdc x 5) around. 42 hdc.

Rnd 8: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc in each of next 6 stitches, (2 hdc, hdc x 6) around. 48 hdc.

Rnd 9: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc in each of next 7 stitches, (2 hdc, hdc x 7) around. 54 hdc.

Rnd 10: sl st to join, ch 1; 2 hdc in same stitch as sl st, 1 hdc in each of next 8 stitches, (2 hdc, hdc x 8) around. 60 hdc.

Rnd 11-17: sl st to join, ch 1; hdc in same stitch as sl st and in each stitch around. 60 hdc.

Rnd 18-19: Begin color B*. sl st to join, ch 1; hdc in same stitch as sl st and in each stitch around. 60 hdc.

Rnd 20-21: Begin color A*. sl st to join, ch 1; hdc in same stitch as sl st and in each stitch around. 60 hdc.

Rnd 22-23: Begin color B*. sl st to join, ch 1; hdc in same stitch as sl st and in each stitch around.

Finish off.

*I like to change my color by inserting the hook into the first stitch for the sl st, and then pulling the new color through to do the ch 1, etc. with the new color. I crochet over the tails of the new and old colors for about 8 stitches, then let them hang until I weave them in once finished.

Leave a Reply

